I have the best job in the world!

23 Feb

… and that’s not just me saying that.
Actually, the past couple of weeks, as we were preparing for SWIFT’s Global sales Convention some of my (marketing) colleagues said it: “Man, you must have so much fun doing what you do”, or “I want to do your job, do you want to do mine?”, or something along those lines.

So what is it that I do?

The funny thing is that I would answer: “nothing special”, honestly. As one of the latest newcomers to the Innovation team – I joined only 6 months ago – I’m still trying things out, I’m looking for my spot, my “thing”.
But actually, it might as well be that I am doing already what I’m supposed to do, what I was meant to do.

I’m exploring, I’m creating, I‘m learning, I’m growing,
I’m having fun!

When preparing for conferences and events in general, I was quickly bombarded the ‘Graphics Expert’ of the team.
Having a background as ‘Constructions Draftsman’, having worked nearly 20 years with AutoCAD, and having a personal interest in photography and software like Photoshop and Illustrator, and being interested in arts and architecture, I guess I had it coming to me…
Come to think of it, my role at such events is to make others, and their presentations, look better. As ‘simple’ as that 😉

Here are some examples of my latest work:

For a workshop, my colleague Mariela Atanassova (aka Mela) had this idea to create a card game, based on the book ‘Strengths based Selling’ and the Clifton StrengthsFinder® in it. So she asked me to make a set of 34 cards, briefly explaining the 34 strengths outlined in the book.
And here they are:
34 Strengths card game

Then another team asked us to help them on a presentation for them, explaining their product portfolio, and their ambition for the coming years. It involved the metaphor of a car, starting with a regular (used) family car, leading towards a proper F1 racing car.
And this is how it turned out:Cardboard toy car taking of

As a final example, I want to share this video that I created, together with Mela. The challenge was to give an informative overview of 6 marketing initiatives in an entertaining way. We chose video as a medium, and created it on-site (in the hotel), in about 12 hours.

When I joined the team, I knew that I was in for a change. The bar was being raised for me, I was bount to be challenged, drawn out of my comfort zone.
At this point, as I’m writing this blog, I’m starting to feel good outside of my comfort zone (as contradictory as it may sound). I know I still have a long way to go, but I’m also starting to push myself, looking for the next limit to be pushed.

Basically what I’m saying is:
I’m enjoying what I do, and I hope that you do too!

Yours truly,
Dominik De Buyser

5 Responses to “I have the best job in the world!”

  1. Damien 23/02/2012 at 15:36 #

    Hi, feeling comfortable outside your comfort zone means that you simply enlarged it. Your new position, which was outside the zone, is now within 😀

    Congratulations

    • Dominik 24/02/2012 at 09:19 #

      Hey Damien, thanks for your comment, but I wasn’t saying that I’m comfortable outside my comfort zone. I was saying that I’m feeling good outside my comfort zone.
      There’s a subtle difference there, I mean I’m OK with being uncomfortable. You know it’s the kind of nervosity that keeps you on edge, that makes you feel alive, the thing that keeps you alert for problems and their (creative) solutions.
      Whereas expanding my comfort zone would mean that all this would feel like ‘a walk in the park’.
      🙂

  2. Kosta 23/02/2012 at 23:30 #

    #proudofmyteam

    • Dominik 24/02/2012 at 09:21 #

      Happy to be part of the tribe 🙂

      • brunhilde 25/02/2012 at 21:10 #

        Congratulations dominik – we’re impressed – brunie&wernie

Leave a Reply

